About the film Australia: ‘I sing you to me…’

I sing you to me…

Yesterday, Me and Chungmei wanted to see a movie. I saw that there was a movie called ‘Australia’, read the description, and thought ‘mwoh’…. I thought it would be some sort of romantic movie, which are great of course, it wasn’t the moment. Haha. I whatched the trailer to be sure. After 10 seconds, I decided that it could actually be a good one.

O.k. here I am, sitting with Chungmei, about the see the movie of the year (it won my personal Grammy).  One of the few movies I have seen in 12 months. As I decided to what, I was actually quite excited. Like a little kid going to the play garden for the first time.

The movie starts. The thing I saw was a few lines explaining about the Stolen Generation. And then, a child throws a boomerang while the sun is going down under, where it already was. Nullah speaks in an interesting accent about his grandfather. His grandfather told him what is most important in life…telling stories, and pass them through. Without a story you are nothing, try to live your best story. After this episode I was wondering ‘would the movie really be about the Stolen Generation and the history of Australia’s people, the Aborigines? I couldn’t believe it, after what I saw, heard and felt in Australia. But yes, it was about Australia’s history.

Although I do not know Australia’s history into great detail I did know the things that came across in the movie. Actually it was quite intense to watch it. It was real to me. And I wasn’t the only one watching…that felt really good. Good to know that people that care about real history. A big thanks Baz Luhrmann! I will give one example to explain why I feel connected to the movie.

During a guest lecture in my class ‘Public Health’, An Aboriginal women was asked to teach us about Aboriginal health and issues related to them. She started like this: “One afternoon I came back from work. A bit tired, but happy, I helped quite some people today. Then my son came running towards me, crying and screaming “Mum, mum!!!” I asked: “What happed my son?”. He said: “the police…you told me those times were over, that they wouldn’t beat us up anymore”. There I was, standing there, in front of my son, not knowing what to say…or what to do.”

This happened at the end of 2007. An aboriginal boy got beaten up by the police because his great-grandmother was Aboriginal. But he was different than the other kids; he still had a broader nose and frizzy hair.

This story and way more intense stories are marked in my head. Maybe that’s why I felt so connected to Nullah, Gulapa and The Drover. I was intrigued to see a glimpse of their knowledge about nature, humans, energy, animals, and being.

“Without feeling your heart you are nothing”

“I sing you to me”

“That’s my grandfather calling me”

“Just because it is the way it is, doesn’t mean it should be”

“All the things I own fit in my bag”

“We cannot say her name anymore”

“Sing for me, yes continue, sing for me”

What do you really own? Have you ever sung a song? Have you try to change things of which you thought they shouldn’t be? What about your heart? Is it there?

I believe we can learn a lot from Indigenous people like the Aborigines in Australia. I would suggest put everything you have learned/experienced in the fridge for a moment. Then go on and search….find. When you found something new go to the fridge and add them together.  And there you have it. Life.

Written by Arnold/Vitamina of Capoeira the Hague.

Share/Bookmark

One thought on “About the film Australia: ‘I sing you to me…’

  1. Hi there,

    I looked over your blog and it looks really good. Do you ever do link exchanges on your blog roll? If you do, I’d like to exchange links with you.

    Let me know if you’re interested.

    Thanks..

Leave a Reply

