Life Coaching: knowing what you want

IMG_1683

“Let me briefly explain my situation and objectives: I have been working for more than five years as an engineer, the job I always wanted to do since I was a child. But although I changed companies and finally arrived at the company that had been my objective from the early days of university, I found myself always uncomfortable and unsatisfied, not sure whether this is really what I want to do the whole day.

Now my personal situation all of a sudden has offered me an opportunity to change track, or at least to reflect about how I want to go on. My partner has got a job offer from Berlin and that’s why we’ll move to Germany in January. I would like to catch this opportunity for understanding what I would really like to do in my professional life. By myself, I have thought this through so many times without coming to results. That is why I would be happy if you could assist me on this way.”

The above email was sent to me by someone who was in his thirties. During the session it because clear that he has an enormous talent, but he wasn’t aware of this up until this conversation. From the moment he walked in I was blown away by his voice. A loud, low and deep voice which filled the hallway. I was flabbergasted and grabbed myself together by introducing myself and showing him the way to the practice. In life he was confronted twice with the impact of his voice. When he was 16 his friends told him he had a magnificent voice. When he was a student he wanted to work as a voice-over, but because of his study he didn’t go through with it.

During the session he was going on and on about wanting to have a passion for something so he could earn his money with his passion or talent. I was listening to a man who had been stuck in his career for years. In his words: “I’m young enough to start something new, but what will I do?”

Sing my friend, sing. Or talk, his voice was his answer.

Leave a Reply

