Life Coaching: enough of my emotions

11100868_656418097803221_2569958122608850195_n

So this man, heading to his forties, came in for his 7th coaching session. After a recap of what was going around in his head the last couple of weeks he came to the conclusion that he was running around without actually feeling. That feeling he was avoiding could be described as a clouded head with an enormous wheel clamp around it. Based on information given to him by psychologists he had accepted this heavy weighing feeling to be something he would walk around with his whole life. This is something which doesn’t fit in my view of personal development.

After the first steps taken past a door to the next chapter of his emotional world he exclaimed: “On my way to this session I wondered what we would talk about, because we had already tackled emotions from my past.” The tears that followed a breathing technique to feel what his body wants to tell him surprised him. These weren’t only tears rolling down his face, this was an emotion which made him bend forwards to hide his face in his hands. He said: “I can’t remember when I cried for the last time. I wasn’t able to feel sadness, I wasn’t able to see and fantasize about vivid and colorful images. Since I started life coaching with you it’s all coming back to me. I still feel dead uncomfortable crying in front of you, but at the same time it feels like a tremendous relief to acknowledge that I do feel sad.

Leave a Reply

